Hidden London

West Dulwich

Home
Latest addition
Index of places
Clickable map
About this site
Recommended
London football
London lyrics
London proverbs
London quotes
London statues
Books
London images
Wallpaper
Links
Opinion
Contact us

Lambeth/Southwark

Victorian and Edwardian railway suburb bordering Dulwich, Tulse Hill and West Norwood. Although some believe that the locality is an estate agents’ invention, West Dilwysh was first recorded in 1344. Hesitant growth began here after the opening of Dulwich station in 1863 (it did not become West Dulwich until 1926). The railway company laid out Thurlow Park, Rosendale and Turney Roads to provide access to the station, although these were at first unsurfaced. Building frontages were advertised but take-up was slow. Rosendale Road’s eventual width and grandeur was supposedly the consequence of a plan to make it part of a grand processional route to the Crystal Palace. A speculator attempted to profit from this by laying out Tritton Road in its path, hoping to be bought out, but his bluff was called and the scheme was abandoned. All Saints church was built in 1891. A spectacular structure for such a modest suburb, it is deservedly grade I listed. The first houses in West Dulwich were very select, but properties became progressively more affordable as development spread westward. The main phase of construction came in the years before the First World War, although gaps were still being filled in the 1930s. The area suffered badly in the Second World War. West Dulwich Congregational church, which stood on Chancellor Road (now Grove), was wiped out by a direct bomb strike in 1940. All Saints was damaged but subsequently restored. Five V1 rockets fell on West Dulwich in 1944, prompting a post-war reconstruction programme that included the creation of the Rosendale Road estate. The unlucky All Saints church was gutted by a fire in 1999 and has had to be restored all over again. Turney special school and Rosendale primary school occupy neighbouring sites at the northern end of the locality.

Pop funsters the Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band first came together at 164A Rosendale Road, in 1962.

clcik for area map (opens in a new window)
'Autumn' by Yoshio Markino

The Japanese artist Yoshio Markino lodged in Martell Road in 1901 while working for a tombstone maker at West Norwood cemetery.

Postal district: SE21
Station: South Eastern (Zone 3)

Brewer's London Phrase & Fable

 
Text and selected images are reproduced with the permission of Chambers but may differ from the published versions
All content 2005–2010