A station and street situated at the southern end of Blackhorse Road in west Walthamstow. The first St James’s church
was erected in 1842. A replacement was built in 1902 and demolished sixty years later. The site is now occupied by a health
clinic. Much of the area was developed by the local builder Sir TCT Warner during the 1890s. It was called the Clock House
estate after the Warner family home, a Regency style villa erected in 1813, part of which is still standing at the corner
of Mission Grove and Pretoria Avenue. Warner’s houses were built to a high standard with distinctive external features,
including a letter ‘W’ on many of the properties. Some of the estate was acquired by the council in the 1960s
and Leucha Road is now a conservation area.
St James’s Park and Low Hall sports ground lie to the south-west of the station. The latter has the Pump House steam
and transport museum, a grade II listed Victorian engine house remodelled in 1897 to take a pair of Marshall steam engines,
which are still in working order.