The south-eastern part of Ruislip, bordering Eastcote. A wooden halt opened at Ruislip Manor in 1912, when this was still
open countryside. The station was completely rebuilt in its present form in 1938, to a design by Charles Holden. Virtually
all of Ruislip Manor was laid out as a single private housing estate by George Ball from 1933 to 1939, and called Manor Homes.
The estate should not be confused with the original plan for the development of central Ruislip – which was initially
called Ruislip Manor – or with the Ruislip Manor cottage estate, north of the railway line. Ball acquired the land from
King’s College, Cambridge, which had previously entertained the notion of creating a garden suburb here, along the lines
of the one at Hampstead. The 2,238 houses were all built to one of two basic types, mostly in terraces of four or six, although
a few were semi-detached. They were priced within the reach of working people, starting at £450, and many were sold to men
from the north who had come to London to find work during the depression. Other buyers came from industrialised parts of West
London, such as Acton, in search of an affordable rural retreat. Nowadays, most adults in Ruislip Manor have some educational
qualifications, but not a degree. 90 per cent of the residents are white and almost as many are homeowners.