A largely built-over park in West Kilburn. Queen’s Park was created for the International Exhibition of the Royal Agricultural
Society, opened in 1879 by Queen Victoria. The open space that remains today was a section of the showground, but much of
the rest was built up by the Artizans’, Labourers’ and General Dwellings Company as a grid of terraced cottages
for the respectable working classes. The park belonged to the Church Commissioners, who gave it to its present owners, the
Corporation of London. During the early twentieth century Queen’s Park had a number of small engineering firms, but
residential building – mostly municipal – has now replaced almost all the original industry. The Mozart council
estate has been a particularly unpopular place to live. In Brent’s Queens Park ward the majority of homes are owner
occupied but in Westminster’s territory most are rented from the council or a housing association. Around 60 per cent
of Queen’s Park’s residents are white and the main ethnic minorities are of black Caribbean, black African and
white Irish descent. At Queen’s Park primary school 85 per cent of pupils speak one of 29 languages other than English
and 21 per cent are of refugee status.
Queen’s Park Rangers football club was formed in the year 1882 by the old boys of Droop Street board school. Originally
called St Jude’s, the club took its present name after a merger with Christchurch Rangers in 1886. QPR have played outside
the Queen’s Park neighbourhood for the majority of their existence, mostly at their present ground in Loftus Road. They
were in and out of top-flight football from the late 1960s to the mid-90s, but have struggled in recent years, both on the
pitch and off it – with persistent financial problems.