A half-forgotten mini-suburb situated between Romford and Collier Row, and traversed by the River Rom. During the fourteenth
century the manor of Romford came into the possession of the celebrated soldier Sir Walter de Mauny. Thereafter, the manor
was called Mawneys – a form still used by local people and by the council. In the nineteenth century Mawney was known
for its gypsies, who worked in the fields and sold brushes and doormats to the cottages of the surrounding villages. The manor’s
265 acres were sold for building in 1883 and Mawney’s letter ‘A’ street pattern was laid out in the 1890s
in a development that marked the beginning of the outward expansion of Romford. Houses were built in small groups over a period
of decades, gradually eroding the nurseries and smallholdings that had characterised the locality. Mawney Road school (located
at the Romford end of the road, and now the Mawney school) opened in 1896 to serve the new estate, and was enlarged in 1907.
In 1925 the arrival of Eastern Avenue divided most of Mawney from the town that had spawned it. Shortly afterwards came the
estates of Collier Row, of which Mawney is now a satellite locality. Sixteen houses were demolished when one of the last rockets
to fall in England hit Mawney Road, near the corner of Forest Road, on 26 March 1945. After the war the creation of the green
belt preserved farmland to the south and west.