Hidden London

Lower Place

Home
Latest addition
Index of places
Clickable map
About this site
Recommended
London football
London lyrics
London proverbs
London quotes
London statues
Books
London images
Wallpaper
Links
Opinion
Contact us

Brent

A canalside annex of Park Royal, now undergoing regeneration. The name is little used except by a business centre on Steele Road. Lower Place was originally a farm near present-day Waxlow Road. The Paddington Canal, now part of the Grand Union Canal, was cut to the south of the farm in 1801. The Central Middlesex hospital began in 1903 as a workhouse infirmary, but has since been much extended. The site is currently undergoing a major programme of redevelopment, with an entirely new acute care hospital, an office building and more than a hundred bed spaces for key workers. Some allotments remain from Lower Place’s agricultural days, along with a mixture of factories, playing fields and institutional buildings. McVitie’s began making biscuits at Waxlow Road in 1906. The site is now the third largest biscuit factory in the world and is still expanding. The Park Royal Partnership has targeted Waxlow Road for further commercial development in the near future. South of the canal, the industry is mainly small-scale and the premises unremarkable, except for the distinctively clad Luxcrete head office on Disraeli Road. Steele Road provides access to the Grand Union Canal walk.

click for area map (opens in a new window)
The Luxcrete building

Postal district: NW10

Brewer's Phrase & Fable

 
Text and selected images are reproduced with the permission of Chambers but may differ from the published versions
All content 2005–2010