Hidden London

Little Ilford

Home
Latest addition
Index of places
Clickable map
About this site
Recommended
London football
London lyrics
London proverbs
London quotes
London statues
Books
London images
Wallpaper
Links
Opinion
Contact us

Newham

A lost village and parish situated on the opposite side of the River Roding (and the North Circular) from Ilford itself. Domesday Book identifies this as the original location of Ilford and there was a wooden church here in Saxon times, which was rebuilt in stone in the twelfth century. The brick-built Lethiuellier chapel was added in the eighteenth century. Over the years, Little Ilford has been eroded as the City of London cemetery occupied its northern part, East Ham absorbed its parish and Manor Park was the name given to the housing that covered its fields in the 1880s and 90s. This is now an area with problems of social deprivation. At Little Ilford community school, on Browning Road, more than half the pupils are eligible for free school meals. Opposite the school is the newly reconstructed London Sri Murugan Temple, a major centre of worship for east London’s Hindus. The ward of Little Ilford is very ethnically mixed, with no single group predominating. The largest minorities are white, Bangladeshi, Indian and black African. A third of residents are Muslims and nearly 30 per cent are under 16.

Jack Cornwell Street commemorates a 16-year-old boy from Alverstone Road who was posthumously awarded the Victoria Cross for his gallantry at the Battle of Jutland in 1916.

click for area map (opens in a new window)
Little Ilford Park, formerly the grounds of Little Ilford Manor, is located at the eastern end of Church Road. It is said to have inspired the Small Faces’ song, Itchycoo Park – but then so are other nearby parks.

Postal district: E12
Population: 13,329

Brewer's London Phrase & Fable

 
Text and selected images are reproduced with the permission of Chambers but may differ from the published versions
All content 2005–2010