Hidden London

Highwood Hill

Home
Latest addition
Index of places
Clickable map
About this site
Recommended
London football
London lyrics
London proverbs
London quotes
London statues
Books
London images
Wallpaper
Links
Opinion
Contact us

Barnet

The classy northern corner of Mill Hill, with a wealth of historic buildings, formerly known simply as Highwood. It was first identified separately from its parent manor of Hendon in the fourteenth century and became a fashionable country retreat during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. The diarist and traveller Celia Fiennes lived at Highwood Ash from 1713 to 1737. Highwood House was bought in 1825 by Sir Stamford Raffles, the founder of Singapore and the London Zoological Society. He lived here for only a year before he died but Lady Raffles stayed on until her own death in 1858. An older house on the estate had been the residence of Rachel, Lady Russell, whose husband was executed for conspiring to murder Charles II. The adjacent Hendon Park estate was the 140-acre property of William Wilberforce, the anti-slavery campaigner. To the south, Holcombe House was built for a City glove merchant in 1778. Herbert (later Cardinal) Vaughan bought the villa in 1866 and started a Catholic missionary college here. The school soon outgrew the premises so Vaughan built St Joseph’s College, which lies to the south-west. Holcombe House then became home to a sisterhood of Franciscan nuns, who also soon moved to larger, purpose-built premises: the neighbouring St Mary’s Abbey. When Holcombe House came back on the market in 1977 it was acquired for the Missionary Institute London, a collaborative undertaking that trains men and women for ministry and missionary work. The institute was affiliated to Middlesex University but closed in 2007 as a result of declining student numbers. St Mary’s Abbey has been converted into a luxury apartment complex called Highwoods, and the Franciscan sisters have moved into a new lodge next door. The more conventional – but still grand – houses of Highwood Hill mostly date from various decades of the twentieth century, especially the 1930s.

click for area map (opens in a new window)
The Old Forge is one of a pair of 2-storey, eighteenth century cottages at the foot of Holcombe Hill

The Rising Sun Inn was converted to its present use in 1751 from a seventeenth century cottage.

Highwood Park House, on Nan Clark’s Lane, doubled as a Mediterranean villa in various 1960s TV series and featured in episodes of Morse and Jonathan Creek in the 1990s.

Postal district: NW7

Brewer's London Phrase & Fable

 
Text and selected images are reproduced with the permission of Chambers but may differ from the published versions
All content 2005–2010