Hidden London


Latest addition
Index of places
Clickable map
About this site
London football
London lyrics
London proverbs
London quotes
London statues
London images
Contact us

Tower Hamlets

DLR station on the eastern edge of Limehouse. West Ferry Road (as it was called until the 1920s) was created, together with its eastern counterpart, when local landowners and businessmen established the Poplar and Greenwich Ferry Roads Company to make turnpikes to the Greenwich ferry in 1812. This marked the opening up of the inland part of the Isle of Dogs although it was several decades before the peninsula was fully colonised. The company abandoned its horse-ferry service in 1844 but continued to levy tolls until the Metropolitan Board of Works bought out the owners and removed the toll-gates in 1885. Westferry Road has been progressively diverted and extended, finally meeting West India Dock Road when the London County Council demolished the Rosher estate in 1960. This junction is the site of Westferry station, opened in 1987 as one of the original fifteen stops on the Docklands Light Railway. The immediate vicinity remains largely unregenerated, with just a handful of unexceptional commercial premises. Before the Second World War the neighbourhood was the centre of the Chinese East End. Westferry Road is the site of the recent Canary South residential development, which has included the conversion of a fire station to flats and the building of a new station further along the road.

click for area map (opens in a new window)
The gardens at Westferry Circus have railings and gates by Giuseppe Lund, symbolising the seasons

A blue plaque in Westferry Road celebrates the building in 1858 of Brunel’s Great Eastern, the largest steamship of the century.

Postal district: E14
Station: Docklands Light Railway (Zone 2)

Brewer's London Phrase & Fable

Text and selected images are reproduced with the permission of Chambers but may differ from the published versions
All content 2005–2010