A suburb fathered by an orphanage, situated south-west of Purley. Trained as a watchmaker and clock repairer, Andrew Reed
chose instead to become a Congregationalist minister. He founded a children’s home that soon outgrew its lodgings in
Richmond and Stamford Hill and raised funds to buy a new site in the Surrey hills. The Asylum for Fatherless Children opened in 1858, with a capacity
of 300. Reed died four years later, aged 75, and the asylum’s name was changed to Reedham in his honour. When the station
opened in 1911 it also took the name Reedham, as did the village that grew up nearby. Declining attendance and increasing
debts forced the governors to close the home in 1980 and the site was sold to pay off debts and set up the Reedham Trust.
Based at the Lodge, the only remaining building, the trust sponsors boarding school education for children with difficult