The largest remaining dock in south London, situated east of Surrey Quays station. It was excavated in 1696 and originally
named Howland Great Wet Dock after the family that owned the land. By the mid 18th century it had become a base for Arctic
whalers and was renamed Greenland Dock. During the 19th century Greenland Dock handled trade in Scandinavian and Baltic timber
and Canadian grain, cheese and bacon. The dock was enlarged in 1904 and closed in 1969, along with the rest of the Surrey
Docks. The London Docklands Development Corporation commissioned a plan for mixed developments of squares and streets integrated
into the existing environment and community. Between 1984 and 1990, 1,250 homes were built at Greenland Dock, notably townhouses
and apartment blocks by the Danish company Islef. The scheme was a success and demand for the new housing exceeded expectations.
In 1990 the Surrey Docks Watersports Centre and a waterside pub opened. The smaller South Dock now serves as a marina.