An assortment of industry, terraced housing and wilderness on the east side of the River Wandle south of Mitcham Common. Although
the name is used to denote the junction of Goat Road, Carshalton Road and London Road, the origin lies in its former location
at the north-west corner of Beddington parish. Hackbridge and Beddington Corner now have their own parish church, built on
London Road in 1931. Mill Green business park has engineering, manufacturing and a journalism training centre. Once there
were lavender and leather works here, the latter giving their name to the Skinners Arms and Goat public houses. Beddington
Corner is earmarked for further housebuilding and Sutton council has designated it an ‘area of special local character’
to regulate its development.
Tom Francis and Eric Montague’s book on Old Mitcham tells of a band of Gallician gypsies that once lived in a field near Willow Cottage at Beddington Corner, before departing
for America. When the gypsy leader’s daughter died she was buried in Mitcham churchyard with an elaborate funeral, her
body bedecked with gold and silver coins.